Cheltenham Champion Chase

Sometimes referred to as the Queen Mother Champion Chase, this horse race is one of the most popular contests in the UK.  It’s been a part of the horse racing calendar since 1959!  Therefore, it’s unsurprising so many betting sites and bookmakers open up markets and odds for it.

Who Runs the Champion Chase?

Betway sponsors the Champion Chase, and it takes place at Cheltenham Racecourse.  It’s had the Queen Mother name since 1980, and up to then, it was called the National Hunt Two-Mile.

The sponsorship rights for the Chase have changed hands many times over the years. Both BetVictor and SportingBet have sponsored the race.

Details of the Race

  • The winner of the race can expect to receive prize money of £400,000
  • It runs a total distance of around a mile and seven furlongs
  • It’s one of the biggest races in the National Hunt calendar, and in the horse racing calendar in general
  • Only one horse – Badsworth Boy – has won the Chase three times, in 1983, 1984 and 1985
  • Tom Dreaper and Nicky Henderson have trained more horses that have won the Chase than any other
  • Henderson won the 2018 and 2019 chases with the same horse – Altior

Betting on the Cheltenham Champion Chase

Want to get in on the Chase? Betting on the Cheltenham Champion Chase is easy from the vast majority of high street bookmakers and horse betting sites. If you’re already well up on your horse racing, you’ll know that it’s often best to wait until late in the day to take advantage of the best odds.

But it may be worth taking a look at a few online bookmakers running offers and deals on the Chase that you can take advantage of now.

Online Tips

Looking for online tips for the Cheltenham Champion Chase?  We don’t blame you!  However, do make sure to take tips with a pinch of salt.  Make sure to get your tips from a variety of sources, and don’t find it too tempting to go with a tipster’s hunch.  Stick with your gut and look at form!

Betting Odds

Betting odds for the Cheltenham Champion Chase will likely get clearer the later you leave your punts. It’s tempting to get a few early bets in there, but surely it makes sense to wait and see if there are any late changes in the markets!

So try and hang on – check out the betting sites likely to offer the best odds, and keep your ear to the ground.  Listen to a few tipsters, but never be afraid to go your own way.

History of the Champion Chase

The history of the Champion Chase is a varied one.  As mentioned, only a few horses have won the race multiple times. But it seems to be a big race for trainers to score multiple wins.

Some of the biggest winning jockeys include Barry Geraghty and Pat Taaffe, both of whom have won the Chase five times each.

More Horse Racing Events

See other horse racing events to bet on through the year below.


Some of the biggest winners of the Champion Chase include Altior, who took home the prize for Nicky Henderson and Nico de Boinville in 2018 and 2019.  Other horses such as Master Minded, for Ruby Walsh and Paul Nicholls, have won the Chase twice, too.

Geraghty and Walsh are two of the most prolific winning jockeys here in recent times. However, Sam Twiston-Davies, Noel Fehily, Andrew Lynch and Robert Thornton have all taken home the spoils in the past decade or so.

Think you have a top tip for the Cheltenham Champion Chase in 2020?  Why not put your money where your mouth is?